NASCAR at Darlington live race updates, results, highlights from the Southern 500

The 2021 NASCAR Cup Series playoffs begin on Sunday evening, and a big question is on the mind of racing fans: Will Kyle Larson continue his winning ways during the Cook Out Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway in South Carolina?

Larson leads the Cup Series with five wins on the season. Those victories helped him vault into first place in the regular-season standings and contributed to his early lead in the playoff standings. He has 2,052 points to his name, while Ryan Blaney is in second place with 2,024.

Now, Larson will look for his most important win yet. A victory at Sunday’s Southern 500 would clinch him a spot in the Round of 12, as it would for any of the 16 playoff drivers. So too would a victory in either of the next two first-round races, the Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond and Bass Pro Shops Night Race at Bristol.

Five drivers in this year’s playoff field have won the Southern 500 before: Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. have all won the event once, while Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick have won it twice apiece, including a victory during the 2020 playoffs for Harvick. Additionally, 2019 Southern 500 winner Erik Jones will be in the 37-car field, though he isn’t one of the 16 drivers that qualified for the playoffs.

Still, Larson will have some stiff competition in the race, which will last 367 laps on Darlington’s 1.366-mile oval track. It will run a total of 501.322 miles.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and lap-by-lap highlights from NASCAR’s playoff race at Darlington on Sunday night. Follow for complete results from the Southern 500.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Darlington live updates, highlights from Southern 500

(All times Eastern).

6:11 p.m. — The engines have been started. It won’t be long until the race begins.

6:09 p.m. — Two playoff drivers, Tyler Reddick and Denny Hamlin, ran in yesterday’s Xfinity Series race at Darlington. Reddick finished in seventh place while Hamlin finished 12th.

6:00 p.m. — The pre-race ceremonies are now underway!

5:58 p.m. — We’re almost ready to race. NBC’s pre-race coverage is ongoing and the Southern 500 is officially set to begin in 20 minutes, at 6:18 p.m. ET.

5:52 p.m. — Speaking of Elliott, he is the reigning NASCAR Cup Series champion. He raced from the poll at last year’s Southern 500, but he finished in 20th place during the race.

5:45 p.m. — Chase Elliott is driving the No. 9 car at Darlington. The design was chosen as part of the Chase Elliott Foundation’s “Desi9n To Drive” competition that benefits Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta. IT features a paint scheme designed by Mary Frances Webb, a 15-year-old who receives cancer treatment at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta.

5:36 p.m. — Bad news for Austin Dillon: he’ll start the race at the back of the pack after failing multiple pre-race inspections. Dillon finished 17th in NASCAR’s regular-season standings and was the first driver out of the 16-car playoff field.

5:35 p.m. — Larson is well ahead in the playoff standings at this point. His five wins have given him a big leg up in NASCAR’s playoff standings.

5:33 p.m. — Kyle Larson was just asked what it was like coming into the playoffs as a favorite. “I haven’t thought about it,” he told NBC Sports.

5:30 p.m. — The 72nd running of the Southern 500 is nearly here, and Darlington Raceway is looking sharp and ready to race.

NASCAR start time today

  • Time: 6 p.m. ET (TV time)
  • TV channel: NBCSN (TSN5 in Canada)
  • Live stream: | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race on Darlington Raceway’s 1.366-mile egg-shaped oval is scheduled to drop at 6:18 p.m. ET.

Ideal weather conditions are expected. The National Weather Service’s Sunday forecast for Darlington, S.C., is for sunny skies and temperatures in the high 80s during the daytime, and clear skies with lows in the mid-to upper 60s at night.

NASCAR starting lineup at Darlington

Here is the complete NASCAR starting lineup for Sunday’s playoff race at Darlington Raceway, the Cook Out Southern 500.

(Playoff drivers are denoted by “p-” next to their names.)

Start pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 p-Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
2 p-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 p-Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
4 p-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
5 p-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
6 p-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
7 p-Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
8 p-Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
9 p-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 p-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 p-Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
12 p-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 p-Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
14 p-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
15 p-Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
16 p-Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
17 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
18 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
19 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
20 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports
21 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
22 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
23 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
24 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
25 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
26 Daniel Suarez 99 TrackHouse Racing
27 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
28 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
29 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
30 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
31 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
32 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
33 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
34 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
35 Joey Gase 15 Rick Ware Racing
36 James Davison 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing

NASCAR playoff standings

The Cook Out Southern 500 at Darlington is the first of three races in the Round of 16. The other races are the Federated Auto Parts 400 at Richmond on Sept. 11 and the Bass Pro Shops Night Race at Bristol on Sept. 18. The playoff field will be cut down to 12 drivers after Bristol.

Pos. Driver Car No. Team Points
1 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports 2052
2 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske 2024
3 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing 2024
4 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing 2022
5 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports 2021
6 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports 2015
7 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing 2015
8 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports 2014
9 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske 2013
10 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske 2008
11 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing 2008
12 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing 2005
13 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing 2005
14 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports 2005
15 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing 2003
16 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing 2002

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.